Bing Google Reviews

Indianapolis Car Transport

Door-to-Door Delivery and Full Insurance Benefits

Indianapolis Car Transport

Door-to-Door Delivery and Full Insurance Benefits

Get your quote NOW
(317) 282-0928
Ship From:

Ship To:

IndyCar: Penske’s Aquisition

IndyCar: Penske’s Aquisition

IndyCar is now under new ownership. The shipping, truck rental, and now racing mogul, Penske, has finished the acquisition of the famous US race industry with a new track major overhaul for the sport.

IndyCar’s Future With Penske

The shipping mogul has already had its hand within the racing circuit. With having 8 winning vehicles over the past 20 years, Penske seems to be the perfect example of ownership for the series. Since the 60’s Penske has had champions and iconic cars and winners.

Mark Donohue and Pony Cars

The introduction of Penske and racing was with professional driver (and champion) Mark Donohue. Through their introduction to the racing series, they would use the late 60’s muscle cars like the Mustang or Camaro’s. Once they decided on a staple vehicle, they started using the AMC Javalin. This went on to become one of the most iconic cars within racing. Sporting a red white and blue “brick” color scheme, the Javalin went on to win the over 2.5L circuit in 1971.

IndyCar Victories

Penske Racing has the most Indianapolis 500 victories of any team in auto-racing history with 18 victories. In 1972, Penske driver Gary Bettenhausen led the most laps but lost an engine with 24 laps to go. His teammate Mark Donohue led the waning laps en route to Penske’s first Indianapolis 500 victory. In 1979, Penske driver Bobby Unser led the most laps of the Indianapolis 500 while teammate Rick Mears won the race, from the pole.

2000’s – Now: IndyCar Wins with Penske

In 2002, Castroneves barely beat Paul Tracy to win his second consecutive Indy 500. Controversy overshadowed the race when videotapes appeared to have shown that Tracy was ahead of Castroneves at the moment of a final-lap caution. After a lengthy appeal, Castroneves’ win was upheld on July 2. In 2003, Gil de Ferran won his first 500 and then retired when the season was over. Penske Racing has since proceeded to win the 500 in 2006, 2009, 2015, 2018, and 2019.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Get a FREE Quote